eliteskybird.blogg.se

Setup virtual machine from dmg file
Setup virtual machine from dmg file







setup virtual machine from dmg file
  1. SETUP VIRTUAL MACHINE FROM DMG FILE HOW TO
  2. SETUP VIRTUAL MACHINE FROM DMG FILE MAC OS X
  3. SETUP VIRTUAL MACHINE FROM DMG FILE MAC OS
  4. SETUP VIRTUAL MACHINE FROM DMG FILE SOFTWARE

SETUP VIRTUAL MACHINE FROM DMG FILE HOW TO

If you instead don’t want to get macOS Sierra and you are looking for the newer version which is macOS High Sierra then you can always follow this guide: How to Install macOS High Sierra in VirtualBox on Windows 10 This guide is using macOS Sierra 10.12 which is the final version. So, if you want to try Apple’s macOS on your Windows 10 too here’s how you can install macOS Sierra Final in VirtualBox on Windows 10. Since then, it took me a while to get used to Apple’s macOS and the way I did it was rather than buying the Mac itself I tried it out on my Windows PC. Don Darion Posts: 1 Joined: 4.I was pretty unsure myself whether I would want to jump onto a Mac ever since I first googled Samurai Jack when I was like 9 years old (don’t ask me why) on my computer which ran on Microsoft’s Windows. Thought I’d add my two cents on what worked for me. This particular forum page was helpful to me. I’m not an expert on this and relied on surfing for bits of information from others along with the VirtualBox manual. (I may have done the Ports part first before the Storage part. Add new USB filter (select the correct USB port). I had to fiddle around a bit, by disconnecting and reconnecting my USB on the Host before it is recognised. Click on Host Drive, then the CD icon (next to IDE Secondary Master). I did what noteirak advised above (see his screenshots).

SETUP VIRTUAL MACHINE FROM DMG FILE MAC OS

I’m using host Mac OS (El Capitan), guest Windows XP professional 32-bit, VirtualBox 5.0.8.

SETUP VIRTUAL MACHINE FROM DMG FILE SOFTWARE

And am now able to use my DVD drive to download and setup software programs from CD/DVDs. Managed to get VirtualBox to recognise my DVD drive connected by USB.

SETUP VIRTUAL MACHINE FROM DMG FILE MAC OS X

May 2011, 15:59 Primary OS: Mac OS X other VBox Version: OSE other Guest OSses: windowsXP So now I don't even know if the disk image will work or how to access it without a shared folder. But VM VirtualBox Manager Shared Folders has "OK" grayed out when I enter path, folder name and select Auto-mount. I tried to create a shared folder with path Z:\Macintosh HD\Users\myname\Documents\Quicken. It came up with "Sun VirtualBox Setup Wizard." Not knowing if I should use that, I attempted to create a disk image using Mac Disk Utility.

setup virtual machine from dmg file

I used the Windows Toubleshooter to find the driver.

setup virtual machine from dmg file

In the system directory ("Computer") the CD drive shows up as D: The CD icon at the bottom of the window is greyed out, so I clicked on the USB icon. Now I'm trying to install a program in Win 7. I used a CD mounted on a USB drive (Macbook Air Superdrive) to install Windows 7, so Virtualbox recognized the CD as a CD. Your best bet is to create the DMG file and use that as a virtual CD. Even if you get it to show up as a USB CD in the virtual machine (with filters), I'm not sure it will boot from that. If I insert a disc it appears fine on my Mac desktop and I can create a DMG image using Disk Utility which I have done with an old Windows 98 CD but I want to install Windows XP without having to go through the hassle of converting it to a DMG image first.Ĭan anyone advise on what could be the problem? My USB drive is a Samsung Slim CD/DVD/Blu-Ray drive I purchased last year and is plugged directly into my Mac. If I go into the Drives options menu, it allows me to select a virtual disk image for the CD drive but there is no mention of my CD/DVD drive at all. Initially I thought the 'Live CD/DVD' option would use the DVD drive however whenever I start up a virtual machine to install an OS, it cannot detect a CD drive. If I add a CD/DVD drive to a virtual machine it asks me if I want to use a virtual disk image or Live CD/DVD. I'm running the latest version of VirtualBox on my MacBook Air (2013 model) on OS X 10.9 Maverick however I cannot seem to use my USB DVD drive with VirtualBox, it just doesn't seem to recognise it at all.









Setup virtual machine from dmg file